Share This !

Three mega urban schemes, the biggest of its kind, Smart Cities Mission, Atal Mission for Rejuvenation and Urban Transformation (AMRUT) and Housing for All in urban area, were launched by Prime Minister Narendra Modi on 25 June 2015.

The projects aim at economic development by increasing access to water supply, sewer connections, public transportation, housing, improved urban governance ensuring transparency and accountability and better delivery of services, enhanced employment opportunities, etc. The government aims to enable two crore urban poor own their houses by the year 2022.

With the announcement of the first batch on 28 January 2016, the execution of 100 smart cities plan was kick-started. A total of 20 cities were announced under this mission. The next batch of 13 cities were announced under Fast Track Mode on 24 May 2016.

The names of 27 cities were announced on 20 September 2016 under the second batch and 30 more cities were added in the third batch announced on 23 June 2017. In January 2018, the fourth batch covering nine cities was added to the list.

As of 17 February 2018, 86 special purpose vehicles (SPVs) have been incorporated. The total cost of these projects is estimated at around Rs 2,01,979 crore. These cities will be developed on 50:50 participation basis from the Central and state governments.

Till date, 99 cities have been announced out of 100 cities. The mega infrastructure development mission will not only give push for economic growth but will create employment opportunities for many.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here